# RIBBLE VALLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL REPORT TO COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE

meeting date:TUESDAY 9 JANUARY 2024title:MEMBERSHIP OF WORKING GROUPSsubmitted by:MARSHAL SCOTT - CHIEF EXECUTIVEprincipal author:REBECCA HODGSON – DEMOCRATIC SERVICES AND CIVIC OFFICER

## 1 PURPOSE

- 1.1 For Committee to consider the membership of the Working Groups under the remit of this Committee for the remainder of the municipal year 2023/2024.
- 1.2 Relevance to the Council's objectives and priorities
  - Community Objectives to be a well managed council providing effective services.
  - Corporate Priorities to protect and enhance the existing environmental quality of our area; to help make people's lives healthier and safer.
  - Other Considerations to work in partnership with other bodies in pursuit of the Council's aims and objectives.

### 2 BACKGROUND

- 2.1 Committee approved the appointment of Members to the Grants Working Group and Car Parking Working Group for 2023/24 on 30 May 2023.
- 2.2 Based on the then political balance the allocations consisted of two Conservatives, one Liberal Democrat, one Labour and one Independent Group Councillor, with the memberships as follows:
  - Grants Councillors R Newmark, J Alcock, M Robinson, K Barnsley and L Street
  - Car Parking Councillors R Newmark, S Atkinson, S O'Rourke, L Jameson and J Atherton

# 3 ISSUES

3.1 Following political group changes, the revised membership of the Community Services Committee based on the new political balance was confirmed at the meeting of the Full Council 12 December 2023 as follows:

CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	LABOUR	PROGRESSIVE LIBERAL GROUP	INDEPENDENT GROUP	GREEN	INDEPENDENT
(6)	(2)	(3)	(1)	(2)	(1)	(0)
Jan Alcock (VC)	Mary Robinson	Karl Barnsley	Ryan Corney	John Atherton	Malcolm Peplow	
Stephen Atkinson	Donna O'Rourke	Lee Jameson		Lee Street		
Stella Brunskill		Kieran Spencer				
Sophie Cowman						
Ricky Newmark (C)						
Gary Scott						

- 3.2 The Grants Working group has not been affected and the membership therefore remains unchanged.
- 3.3 The Car Parking Working Group requires a replacement Member as Councillor S O'Rourke is no longer a member of Community Services Committee.

## 4 RISK ASSESSMENT

- 4.1 The approval of this report may have the following implications: -
  - Resources the costs associated with working groups are included in the budget for 2023/24.
  - Technical, Environment and Legal none.
  - Political none.
  - Reputation none.
- 5 RECOMMENDED THAT COMMITTEE:
- 5.1 Note that the membership of the Grants Working Group remains unchanged as follows: Grants Working Group – Councillors R Newmark, J Alcock, M Robinson, K Barnsley and L Street
- 5.2 Appoint a replacement Member to the Car Parking Working Group.

REBECCA HODGSON	MARSHAL SCOTT
ADMINISTRATION OFFICER	CHIEF EXECUTIVE

### BACKGROUND PAPERS

- 1 Agenda and Minutes of Community Services Committee 30 May 2023
- 2 Agenda and Minutes of Full Council 12 December 2023

For further information please contact Rebecca Hodgson at rebecca.hodgson@ribblevalley.gov.uk.